Kanach Jam (Green Church, because the domes of the church were at one time painted green) church was built in 1818 on the place of former wooden church Gharabakhtsots, that was located in eastern part of fort city, existing in XVIII century. The church can be well seen from every part of the city, due to perfectly raised chapel and the dome. Kanach Jam has unique architectural innovations; the church has cross-shaped plan, and its eastern facade attached to the western side of the chapel.
Kanach Jam has a unique interior finishing, making this monument unique among similar architectural constructions. Over the entrance to the chapel there is an inscription; "Babayan Stepanos Hovhannes. In the memory of the deceased brother Mkrtych. 1847.